Keynote Speaker

2018 Keynote Speaker: Dr. David Ginsburg, M.D. from the University of Michigan

David Ginsburg is James V. Neel Distinguished University Professor of Internal Medicine and Human Genetics, Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor of Medicine, a member of the Life Sciences Institute at the University of Michigan Medical School, and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator. He received his B.A. degree in molecular biophysics and biochemistry from Yale University in 1974 and his M.D. degree from Duke University School of Medicine in 1978. His postdoctoral clinical and research training was at the Brigham and Women's Hospital and Children's Hospital, Harvard Medical School. Dr. Ginsburg joined the faculty at the University of Michigan as an Assistant Professor in 1985. 
Dr. Ginsburg's laboratory studies the components of the blood-clotting system and how disturbances in their function lead to human bleeding and blood-clotting disorders. The lab has studied the molecular basis of the common disorder von Willebrand disease and is identifying modifier genes that control severity for this and related diseases. The lab has also defined mutations in ADAMTS13, an enzyme that processes von Willebrand factor, as the cause of Thrombotic Thrombocytopenia Purpura. Studies of the bleeding disease combined deficiency of factors V and VIII by the Ginsburg lab identified mutations in a novel pathway for the transport of a select subset of proteins from the ER to the Golgi. Finally, the lab studies the plasminogen activation system, the mechanism by which blood clots are broken down, and has explored the role of this system in a variety of disease processes including atherosclerosis and microbial infection. 
Dr. Ginsburg is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Medicine, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and recipient of the E. Donnall Thomas Lecture and Prize and Stratton Medal from the American Society of Hematology, the Basic Research Prize and the Distinguished Scientist Award from the American Heart Association, the Stanley J. Korsmeyer Award from the American Society of Clinical Investigation, the AAMC Award for Distinguished Research in the Biomedical Sciences, and the Lucian Award from McGill University. He is a past president of the ASCI and has served on the Councils for the AAP, the National Academy of Sciences, and the Institute of Medicine.


Previous Keynote Speakers

2017: Diane Mathis, PhD

2016: Andew Fire, Ph.D

2015: Mario Capecchi, Ph.D

2014: Randal Kaufman, Ph.D

2013: Johanna Joyce, Ph.D

2012: Richard Schlegl, M.D., Ph.D

2011: Andrew N. Redington, M.D

2010: Joseph Thornton, Ph.D

2009: Sean J. Morrison, Ph.D

2008: Susan Ferro-Novick, Ph.D

2007: Edward Ziff, Ph.D

2006: Joseph Avruch, M.D

2005: Arthur Horwich, M.D

2004: Harvey Lodish Ph.D